CHEMICAL PHYSICS PROGRAM
UMD
A - E   F - J   K - O   P - T   U - Z
NIST
A - E   F - J   K - O   P - T   U - Z
NIH
A - E   F - J   K - O   P - T   U - Z
STUDENTS
DIRECTORY

Johnpierre Paglione JOHNPIERRE PAGLIONE
PHYS
Ph.D. University of Toronto (2004)
301-405-7115
paglione@umd.edu
Strongly correlated electron systems, unconventional superconductivity, quantum criticality, crystal growth.
Garegin Papoian GAREGIN PAPOIAN
CHEM/BIOCHEM
Ph.D. Cornell University (1999)
301-405-8667
gpapoian@umd.edu
Complex biological phenomena based on fundamental physical and chemical principles. Current research interests include DNA packing in cells of higher organisms and cellular cytoskeleton and motility.

William Phillips WILLIAM D. PHILLIPS
PHYS/IPST
Ph.D. MIT (1976)
301-975-6554
wdp@umd.edu
Laser cooling, Bose-Einstein condensation, atom optics, optical lattices, quantum information.
Oded Rabin ODED RABIN
ENGR
Ph.D. MIT (2004)
301-405-3382
oded@umd.edu
Synthesis and characterization of nanoparticles and nanowires, electrical and thermal transport, chemical sensing at surfaces and biomedical imaging.

Srinivasa Raghavan SRINIVASA R. RAGHAVAN
ENCH
Ph.D. N.Carolina State University (1998)
301-405-8164
sraghava@umd.edu
Complex fluids and soft matter structured at the micro- or nano- scale. Rheology, microscopy and scattering techniques.
Janice Reutt-Robey JANICE E. REUTT-ROBEY
CHEM-BIOCHEM
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley (1986)
301-405-1807
rrobey@umd.edu
Experimental studies of surface chemistry and dynamics on a nanoscale.

Efrain Rodrigues EFRAIN RODRIGUES
CHEM
Ph.D. University of CA (2009)
301-975-8490
efrain@umd.edu
Inorganic materials with functionalities relevant to energy efficiency and magnetic memory storage. Utilization of scattering techniques including X-ray and neutron to determine structure and dynamics. Exploratory synthesis including low-temperature routes to prepare novel, metastable phases.
Steven Rolston STEVEN ROLSTON
PHYS
Ph.D. State University of NY, Stony Brook (1986)
301-405-7189
rolston@umd.edu
Optical lattices, Bose-Einstein condensation, ultracold plasmas.

Rajarshi Roy RAJARSHI ROY
IPST/PHYS
Ph.D. University of Rochester (1981)
301-405-1636
rroy@umd.edu
Quantum electronics/optics, noise and nonlinear dynamics in optical systems, experimental statistical physics.
Lourdes Salamanca-Riba LOURDES SALAMANCA-RIBA
MRSEC
Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1985)
301-405-5220
riba@umd.edu
Multiferroic nanocomposites, DNA-based biosensors and radiation sensors on GaAs, semiconductor nanowires, and self-assembly for the formation of nanocomposite materials and structures.

Jan V. Sengers JAN V. SENGERS
IPST/ENGR
Ph.D. University of Amsterdam (1962)
301-405-4805
sengers@umd.edu
Fluctuation phenomena in soft condensed matter.
Eun-Suk Seo EUN-SUK SEO
IPST/PHYS
Ph.D. Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge (1991)
301-405-4855
seo@umd.edu
High energy cosmic ray composition and energy spectra.

Lawrence Sita LAWRENCE SITA
CHEM/BIOCHEM
Ph.D. MIT (1985)
301-314-9121
lsita@umd.edu
Metal inorganic and organometallic, catalyst development, chemically-tailored surfaces and interfaces, molecular and mesoscopic self-assembly, nanofabrication.
Devarajan Thirumalai DEVARAJAN THIRUMALAI
IPST/BIPH
Ph.D. University of Minnesota (1982)
301-405-4803
thirum@umd.edu
Development of theoretical approaches to properties of complex systems.


University of Maryland   •   Chemical Physics Program   •   Physical Sciences Complex   •   College Park, MD 20742   •   301-405-4780